The Football Dept. - 2nd Floor
Sure that the growing popularity of baseball could support a third major league, John T. Powers of Chicago brought together a group of entrepeneurs in 1913 and founded the Federal League. In its first year of existence the six-team circuit made no pretentions to major league status and respected major league contracts. Only a few faded major leaguers were in the league that season, although all six managers were former players of note, including Cy Young, who piloted Cleveland. Following the season, in which only one team folded, the owners ousted the cautious Powers and replaced him as president with James Gilmore, one of the Chicago owners.
Vintage Football Leagues
Vintage Football Stadiums